Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded to Scientists Whose Work Helps Predict Global Warming

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on Tuesday to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems.”

Who won the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics?

The physics prize went to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for their discoveries that have improved the understanding of the universe, including work on black holes.

Who else won a Nobel Prize in the sciences in 2021?

  • On Monday, the prize in Physiology or Medicine was jointly awarded to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for work that has led to the development of nonopioid painkillers.

Who else won Nobel Prizes in science in 2020?

  • Dr. Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice received the prize for their discovery of the hepatitis C virus.

  • The chemistry prize was jointly awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna for their work on the development of Crispr-Cas9, a method for genome editing.

When will the other Nobel Prizes be announced?

  • On Wednesday, the Chemistry prize will be announced in Stockholm.

  • The prize in Literature will be announced in Stockholm on Thursday. Read about last year’s winner, Louise Glück.

  • The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday in Oslo. Read about last year’s winner, the World Food Program.

  • On Monday, the prize in Economic Sciences will be announced in Stockholm. Last year’s prize was shared by Paul Milgrom and Robert Wilson.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button